20th Century

Women's suffrage, World Wars and more technological developments than you can poke a stick at. This was a busy, fraught and sad time for many, but there were joyous occasions too.


Alex Gerlis

Alex Gerlis was born in Grimsby, Lincolnshire. He worked for the BBC as a journalist for nearly thirty years, starting out as a researcher on a three month contract on Panorama and ending his career there as Head of Training in the BBC College of Journalism.


He left the BBC in 2011 to concentrate on his writing, since when he has seen four of his novels published.


He lives in west London with his wife and has two daughters and two grandsons, even though he is obviously not old enough to be a grandfather.


Alex has all the usual hobbies and interests one expects and carries the burden of supporting Grimsby Town. He first saw them in February 1968 when they beat Bristol Rovers 3-2, not realising at the time that would be the high point of his supporting the Mariners..


Pam Lecky

Pam Lecky is an Irish historical fiction author, with a great love of historical mystery and crime. She is represented by the Hardman & Swainson Literary Agency. From an early age, Pam had a particular fascination with all things historical, from food and clothes to architecture and social history.


Patiently awaiting the invention of time travel, she must be content with giving her novels a historical setting instead. Her debut novel, The Bowes Inheritance, was shortlisted for the Carousel Aware Prize 2016, and longlisted for the Historical Novel Society 2016 Indie Award.


Pam’s Victorian Lucy Lawrence Mystery Series is extremely popular in the US market. Pam’s next two novels were inspired by her local and family history, and she is delighted to have found a home for them at Avon Books UK, an imprint of Harper Collins.


Pam also writes historical mysteries. 

Liza Perrat

Liza grew up in Wollongong, Australia, where she worked as a general nurse and midwife for fifteen years.

When she met her French husband on a Bangkok bus, she moved to France, where she has been living with her husband and three children for twenty years. She works part-time as a French-English medical translator, and as a novelist.

Several of her short stories have won awards, notably the Writers Bureau annual competition of 2004 and her stories have been published widely in anthologies and small press magazines. Her articles on French culture and tradition have been published in international magazines such as France Magazine and France Today.

Spirit of Lost Angels is the first in the historical "The Bone Angel" series set against a backdrop of rural France during the French Revolution. The second in the series, Wolfsangel, set during the WWII German Occupation of France, was published in October, 2013. The third in the series, Blood Rose Angel, set during the 14th century Black Plague years was published in November, 2015.

Lake of Echoes-LizaPerrat-1960s.JPG

This trilogy takes place in France and crosses more than 600 years 


M.K. Tod

M.K. Tod has been a fan of historical fiction since her teenage years when she stumbled on a novel her mother was reading, featuring a sword-wielding Scot and a woman with red hair. Losing herself in long-ago worlds is the best entertainment.


In 2004, her husband’s career took her to Hong Kong where, with no job and few prospects, she began to research and write about her grandparents’ lives during two world wars. A few years later, that interest turned into a full-time occupation writing historical fiction.


M.K. Tod also writes in other eras. 


Alli Sinclair

Alli Sinclair is a multi award-winning author, published by Harper Collins Australia, who spent her early adult years travelling the globe, intent on becoming an Indiana Jones in heels. She scaled mountains in Nepal, Argentina, and Peru, rafted the Ganges, and rode a camel in the Sahara. Argentina and Peru became her home for a few years and when she wasn’t working as a mountain or tour guide, Alli could be found in the dance halls dancing the tango, salsa, merengue, and samba.

All of these adventures made for fun storytelling and this is when she discovered her love of writing. Alli’s stories capture the romance and thrill of exploring new destinations and cultures that also take readers on a journey of discovery.

Alli volunteers as an author role model with Books in Homes, promoting literacy and reading amongst young people.


Christine Bell

Christine Bell is a Melbourne fiction writer. Her debut historical novel No Small Shame is published by Ventura Press (Impact Imprint) 2020. Christine has been awarded a place in the Katharine Susannah Pritchard 2021 Fellowship Program. She is the winner of the inaugural 2019 HNSA Colleen McCullough Residency for an Established Writer.


She is a Varuna Alumni and holds a Master of Creative Writing. Christine served as the Assistant Co-ordinator for the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators Victoria (SCBWI) 2014-2018. Christine has had 30 short fiction works published for children. No Small Shame is her first adult novel.


Bruce W. Bishop

Bruce W. Bishop is based in Nova Scotia, Canada, and wrote his debut novel, 'Unconventional Daughters', during the first pandemic lockdown in 2020. He penned an interlinked novel, 'Uncommon Sons', which was published in June 2021.


He is currently working on book three in this series called 'Families' Storytelling'. It is set in Nova Scotia of the 1950s, and features one of the characters from his first two novels as the protagonist.


Judith Barrow

Judith Barrow, originally from Saddleworth, a group of villages on the edge of the Pennines, has lived in Pembrokeshire, Wales, for over forty years.

She has an MA in Creative Writing with the University of Wales Trinity St David's College, Carmarthen. BA (Hons) in Literature with the Open University, a Diploma in Drama from Swansea University. She is a Creative Writing tutor for Pembrokeshire County Council and holds private one to one workshops on all genres.